Goodbye, 2010. Hello, 2011.

One final day before the year ends and here I am planning my 2011. While 2010 has certainly been a great year, it certainly has its bad memories, most of which I do not want to think about anymore. So thinking out loud, here are my plans for the incoming year.

1. Practice Buddhism. I want to have peace of mind and only positive thoughts in my head so this I have to start soon.

2. Live healthily. This includes eating the right kinds of food and staying away from unhealthy ones, exercising regularly, and sleeping early. This I predict will be a difficult adjustment because it means I have to stay away from cakes, brownies, frappes, donuts, and cupcakes. But no, I have to be really determined. I have no problems staying away from pork since I’m more of a chicken-and-fish type of person. Before the month ends, I need to enroll myself in a boxing gym.

3. Save. I now have two jobs to help me save for the future. While working at home has its drawbacks (including mothers constantly pestering you to do household chores and implying that you are just actually playing rather than working), this kind of job fits best with my academic schedule. I need to be more disciplined in waking up early because my 2nd job requires me to log in at a certain time in the afternoon so I have to do everything in the morning. All reading and paper assignments can be done while I’m on my 2nd job which is another reason why I love it. I also think I’ve bought every techie gadget I want this year so I won’t be longing for anything expensive next year. Except for the Amazon Kindle. Yes, I’m still dying to have that one. I don’t want my hundreds of e-books to go to waste. And yes, I want to read them all.

4. Thesis. My academic life is my life – well, aside from my girlfriend, my cousins, my dogs, and my friends. Books, believe it or not, turn me on. So this year, I want to focus on finishing my MA degree. The first step, of course, is to think of a thesis topic, which I have not done yet. I partly use my thesis as justification to buy an Amazon Kindle. HAHA.

5. Travel, travel, and more travel. 2010 was the first year I traveled out of the country without my family and I greatly enjoyed the experience. This year, I want to visit two more countries: Thailand and Indonesia. I will be going to Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia (and hopefully Brunei) with Love on the first week of March as part of our 2-year anniversary celebration (it’s on every 7th of April, in case you’re interested) and I want to celebrate our 2 years together by also visiting Sagada and see the hanging coffins. Can someone suggest a cold place where I can make use of my numerous scarves? I don’t want them to just be kept in the closet. There’s a reason why I bought them and that is to wear them in style.

Ok, I can’t think of anything else at the moment but I’m sure one or two will pop up anytime soon. As for my dear friends and those who show me so much love, I only wish you the best for 2011. I hope this is the year all, if not most, of our dreams come true. Thank you for making this year a really good one for me.

4 thoughts on “Goodbye, 2010. Hello, 2011.

  1. Hello! Yung GF ko din nagpa-practice ng Buddhism. Nagulat lang ako na talaga palang merong Buddhism dyan sa Pinas, hehehe! Good thing is we never tackle anything about religion. She respected mine the way I respected her pov when it comes to religion. Kakatuwa lang.

    1. Buddhism is not as predominant here as Catholicism but yes, it does exist. Good for you and your girlfriend. Dapat talaga to each his own. As long as hindi isama ang religion at politics sa relationship, madaling i-work out.Hehe.

  2. I simply enjoyed reading your posts like this one 🙂 I’m going to write my own too. I also want to go to Sagada hopefully next year and travel more..*crossing my fingers*

Leave a Reply

