Health Issues

This is an overdue post that was done three months ago.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Okay, so this week I found out I had blood sugar levels that are higher than the reference values. What does this mean for me? It means I need to lose some weight – go on a low carb diet and burn some fats. While the values may not be alarming, weight loss is important for me because diabetes runs in my family. My paternal grandfather has it. I think my aunt has it. Diabetes also skips a generation so my parents, aunties, and uncles are very cautious with my generation. I detected grave concern in my father’s voice when he told me to start watching what I eat because this is a very serious matter.

The reason, actually, why I requested for an FBS and CBC lab test is because I’ve been feeling ear pains and neck pains recently, which always happens when I’m sleepy or had just gotten out of bed. Additionally, I had dizzy spells. A dear friend of mine, a certain Elena Legaspi, told me that deafness and something else, I can’t exactly remember the other symptom, are symptoms of a high blood sugar. There. Today, my mom and I went to the EENT (Eye, Ear, Nose, Throat) doctor and guess what he said – I have Temporomandibular joint or TMJ. Forgive my source but Wikipedia states the following symptoms:

  • Biting or chewing difficulty or discomfort
  • Clicking, popping, or grating sound when opening or closing the mouth
  • Dull, aching pain in the face
  • Earache (particularly in the morning)
  • Headache (particularly in the morning)
  • Hearing loss
  • Migraine (particularly in the morning)
  • Jaw pain or tenderness of the jaw
  • Reduced ability to open or close the mouth
  • Tinnitus
  • Neck and shoulder pain
  • Dizziness

Those in bold are exactly what I’m feeling each time I get up – at night. I honestly thought that the dizziness and neck pains are caused by my high blood sugar levels, or maybe I was having high blood too. Gaaahh.

So, now that I’m suffering from TMJ disorder and high blood sugar levels, I have no choice but to go on a diet. One month with no rice, no sweets. HUH.

Leave a Reply

