A Taste of What’s to Come in 2012: The Top 10 Films I’ll Be Seeing Next Year

For many years now, I’ve always made a list of the movies I will be looking forward to watch for the upcoming year. This year, it’s no exception. Here’s what I’ll be waiting for come 2012. Judge me if you like, but many of these films I watch because of tradition alone. Not that I’m trying to defend myself. LOL.

1. Men in Black:III starring Will Smith, Tommy Lee Jones, Emma Thompson, and Josh Brolin. In theaters May 25, 2012.

2. G.I. Joe 2: Retaliation starring Channing Tatum, Dwayne Johnson, Adrienne Palicki, and Bruce Willis. Rachel Nichols is not here anymore and so are more of the cast from the first installment. BOO. In theaters June 29, 2012.

3. Underworld: Awakening starring Kate Beckinsale. After 5 years of waiting, she’s finally here! Don’t get me wrong. I liked Rhona Mitra on the third installment (Underworld: Rise of the Lycans in 2009) but no one can ever play a better vampire than Kate Beckinsale.  I never thought she’d come back to do another installment. CAN’T WAIT! In theaters Jan. 20, 2012.

4. The Avengers starring Robert Downey, Jr., Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Samuel Jackson, and Jeremy Renner. Okay, Mark Ruffalo as the Incredible Hulk too. Why can’t they just cast a more permanent Hulk this time? Oh, and Cobie Smulders (Robin of How I Met Your Mother) is also in this film. In theaters May 4, 2012.

5. Resident Evil 5: Retribution starring Milla Jovovich, Sienna Guillory, Michelle Rodriguez, Ided Fehr, and Kevin Durand. Jill Valentine is  back! YEAH! In theaters Sept. 14, 2012. Sorry, I can’t find the official trailer for this film. In the meantime, enjoy this.

6. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows starring Robert Downey, Jr., Jude Law, Rachel McAdams, and Noomi Rapace, the original Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. In theaters January 2012 (Delayed screening due to MMFF).

7. Ice Age: Continental Drift starring Ray Romano, Queen Latifah, Denis Leary, and John Leguizamo. In theaters July 13, 2012.

8. The Dark Knight Rises starring Christian Bale, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Liam Neeson, Cillian Murphy, Gary Oldman, and Joseph Gordon-Levitt. In theaters July 20, 2012.

9. The Expendables 2 starring Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Liam Hemsworth, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Chuck Norris, Dolph Lundgren, Jet Li, Terry Crews, Scott Adkins, and Randy Couture. For all you Mickey Rourke fans, he won’t be returning in the sequel. In theaters August 17, 2012. No official trailer but Clevver Movies shares details on the casting of this installment.

10. Step Up 4 starring Kathryn McCormick, Chadd Smith, and a whole bunch of unknowns. Adam Sevani, aka Moose, and Alyson Stoner, aka Camille, is not sure to come back yet. Admit it. You don’t watch it for the story, either. In theaters July 27, 2012. Here’s a sneak peek of what dance moves to expect for the fourth installment of Step Up.

2 thoughts on “A Taste of What’s to Come in 2012: The Top 10 Films I’ll Be Seeing Next Year

  1. I love this blog post 🙂 na-update ako, I didn’t know they’re already working on Step Up 4 🙂 exciting! 🙂 I’m also excited to watch Underworld:Awakening, I really have this huge crush on Kate Beckinsale 🙂

Leave a Reply

